Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Expected Quality?
I'm not sure about the quality we can expect from a resin printer with an external screen.

Asking the company you get always the same answer "It only depends on your phone screen quality - higher resolutions will result in better prints" or the like.
I don't think so. I'm a media designer, and I have some practical experience with hardcopy with contact film and it's issues (film/photo paper, film/nyloprint, film/printing plate, the standard before the digital revolution in printing industry).

I tried a quick demonstration what I expect to happen, see below what I'm talking about:

[Image: i43411bej4yq.jpg]

We can expect that it works. Definitely.
But I think, even if the screen resolution increases, we can't expect sharp edges, small details or any good reproducibility across phones. Quality depends purely on the gap between physical mask (screen) and the photosensitive layer (resin).
In print industry the issue is known as "dot gain", or "bleeding" in image processing. Even the position of the emulsion side of the film had a significant effect.

I worked with nyloprint years (decades?) ago, and there it is clearly visible that the gain/bleeding increases drastically with the distance. This is a physical issue.
Have a look at the this nyloprint ornament, how it increases with nearly 45 degree slopes and gets round corners at its base:
Quote:http://www.belgravur-bvm.de/produkte_lackplatten.html
[Image: produkte_lackplatte.jpg]

I think this is why ONO preferably chooses these "wobbly" structures for demonstration:
[Image: c06bb6b2aa260b8cd895fa27d5905096_origina...2b89f9c247]
(this and following images taken from their kickstarter campaign)

Looking at the end of their kickstarter page, I'm pretty sure this one can never be achieved with the technique:
[Image: 0dc6a56ed8888fe951f3ce3a2874d461_origina...eedb23c8ba]